sustainability is on the go!

esg2go

rating & reporting standard

esg2go sustainability rating for SMEs

The first version of the esg2go Rating & Reporting Standard was launched on March 31, 2022. And it’s as easy as buying a coffee over the counter. Here are the reasons why every small and medium-sized enterprise (SME) should participate.

Reason 1

With esg2go, SME receive a reliable tool, with which you can measure your level of sustainability to an exact degree, differentiate using benchmarks, and present yourself with your achieved results.

Reason 2

esg2go is an entire system of ratings and reportings. The data entry is a once-only case. esg2go is ideal as a sustainability statement in tenders. esg2go helps SMEs to save transaction costs and opens up new markets for them.

Reason 3

When defined, esg2go will help you comply with regulatory requirements. This will also be as easy as ordering a coffee over the counter. These are reasons why esg2go sustainability is on the go!

Why esg2go?

L

esg2go open

Openness characterizes our approach, openness is in everything we do. We actively integrate the extensive knowledge of our sustainability experts into our systems. We have all other relevant rating and report standards on board. From a technological standpoint, interface and transcoding has been our core business. Our filters can adapt to very specific conditions. We are open to discuss any topics that will help move sustainability forward.

L

esg2go trusted

We believe in facts, in numerical values. We are convinced that sustainability must be shown in real terms. Mere declarations of intent are not enough; we avoid greenwashing at all costs. We want exact comparisons as well as differentiated benchmarks. We want the acknowledgement of sustainability achievements. We want the better players to stand in a better light. We want traceability and transparence. We demand credibility.

L

esg2go together

Pros and Partners support esg2go. Together we are building the best rating for SMEs. This starts with the specialists of the CCRS Center for Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, continues with the “pros”, i.e. the professionals (specialists), the promoters (associations) and the progress enablers (institutes). The power of partners (such as UBS, Credit Suisse, Zurich Insurance) ensures the foundation for market penetration. This all at affordable prices.

L

esg2go go go!

esg2go – sustainability is on the go! So that sustainability can move forward. But no theoretical overkill, but what serves SMEs and the environment, society and good governance. esg2go was developed in cooperation with SMEs for this exact reason. This is why esg2go doesn’t only take the footprint into account, but also the handprint (the active contribution to solving the problem). So that sustainability can move forward!

Our Transparent Process

What information do we need?

esg2go is built economically, but not minimalistically. Reliable results require reliable data entry, most of which will be ascertained from financial statements. In some cases, you may need electricity bills or employees’ wage statements.

It is not unlike doing your taxes: The first time requires more time, due to gathering all the necessary documents. The following times, you will have everything prepared and ready to go. As it would be expected: The companies who have defined themselves through sustainability will have an easier time compared to the novices.

On request, a Professional (specialist) will guide you through the entire process. The professionals can help with data entry, as well as a detailed explanation of the results.

What are we calculating?

The inputs (click here for an example) are converted into scores by the calculation machinery developed by CCRS. The individual input values are used to calculate so-called KPIs (Key Performance Indicators), two each for the area of the environment (E – Environment), five for the area of society (S – Social) and three for the area of corporate management (G – Governance). These “footprint” KPIs are converted into “handprint” KPIs by including the active contribution. The KPIs will become scores for the individual ESG categories and converted into a final score. In addition to the input from the esg2go participants, other empirical values are also included in the calculations of the scores.

For benchmarking purposes, the scores are calibrated for the respective company’s industry and size. A score of 0 is a so-called no-go value, i.e. the absolute minimum. A score of 100 is the ideal value that is currently theoretically possible. The benchmark lies at 60, which means it serves as a reference value for the respective industry and size of company. If you are over the benchmark, you are performing better than the industry average, if you are below it, you are performing worse.

The following figure sums it up perfectly: Through differentiated benchmarking, adjusted to industry and company size, the scatter will reduce, and the benchmark becomes more accurate and therewith more meaningful.

 

esg2go Benchmarking Diagramm

The result?

So, what is it all for? Well, quite a lot, if you ask us.

  1. A clear, fair, industry, and company size adjusted scoring system in all ESG categories.
  2. An automated reporting system that can transfer to further reporting.
  3. Through the transparent approach, the activities regarding sustainability will be included, which ensures a high quality for esg2go Rating & Reporting Standards.
  4. The esg2go Rating & Reporting Standard will be filled out one time and can be accepted by a multitude of customers. This saves a lot of time.
  5. This is how esg2go becomes a reliable reference, which will enable access in further markets and business propositions.

You can see an example of an MVP report (rating only) here. In addition, participants will receive a “stamp” to use for communication.

esg2go-go-go! A prelude into the sustainability report generator.

Beispiel einer Ergebnisgrafik

esg2go advantages briefly & concisely explained in the video

“We want to make it as easy as possible for the SME. And they should be able to draw the highest possible usage from it”

Dr. Philipp Aerni – Director CCRS

Who is behind esg2go?

esg2go is a project created by CCRS (Center of Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability) at the School of Management in Fribourg, and Adjumed Services AG.

Logo CCRS
Logo HfW Fribourg
Logo Adjumed Services AG
Logo CCRS
Logo Uni ZH
Logo Adjumed Services AG
Logo CCRS
Logo Uni ZH

sustainability is on the go!

esg2go

rating & reporting standard

esg2go Nach­haltig­keits­rating für KMU

Die erste Version des esg2go Rating & Reporting Standards ist am 31. März 2022 gestartet. Und es ist so einfach, als wenn man einen Kaffee über die Gasse kauft. Hier die Gründe, warum jedes kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) teilnehmen sollte.

Grund 1

Mit esg2go erhalten KMU ein griffiges, verlässliches Tool, mit dem sie ihre Nachhaltigkeit genau messen, differenziert benchmarken und sich mit dem guten Resultat profilieren können.

Grund 2

esg2go ist ein ganzes System von Ratings und Reportings. Es gilt „once only“ für die Dateneingabe. esg2go ist ideal als Nachhaltigkeitsausweis in Ausschreibungen. esg2go hilft den KMU, Transaktionskosten zu sparen und eröffnet ihnen neue Märkte.

Grund 3

Sobald definiert, wird esg2go auch helfen, regulatorischen Auflagen zu genügen. Und das ebenfalls so einfach, als würde man einen Kaffee über die Gasse kaufen. Deswegen ist mit esg2go sustainability on the go!

Warum esg2go?

L

esg2go open

Offenheit prägt unseren Ansatz, Offenheit ist in allem, was wir tun. Wir integrieren das ganze Wissen der Nach­haltig­keits­akt­eure und binden sie aktiv ein. Wir haben die anderen Rating- und Reporting-Standards mit an Bord. Technologisch sind Schnittstellen und Trans­ko­die­run­gen schon immer unser Geschäft. Ein­gabe­filter passen sich der spezifischen Situation an. Wir sind offen für den Austausch, der die Nach­haltig­keit voranbringt.

L

esg2go trusted

Wir glauben an Fakten, an numerische Werte. Wir sind überzeugt, dass sich die Nachhaltigkeit real zeigen muss. Reine Ab­sichts­erk­lärun­gen sind zu wenig, besonders wollen wir kein Greenwashing. Wir wollen exakte Vergleiche, differenziertes Benchmarking. Wir wollen die Anerkennung der Nachhaltigkeitsleistungen. Wir wollen, dass die Besseren auch besser dastehen. Wir wollen die Nachvollziehbarkeit und Transparenz. Wir verlangen Glaubwürdigkeit.

L

esg2go together

Pros und Partner unterstützen esg2go. Zusammen bauen wir das beste Rating für KMU . Das fängt an bei den Spezialisten des CCRS Center for Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, setzt sich fort bei den „Pros“, also den Professionals (Spezialisten), den Promotoren (Verbänden) und den Progress Enablern (Instituten). Die Power der Partner (wie UBS, Credit Suisse, Zurich Versicherungen) sichert das Fundament für die Durchsetzung am Markt. Und das zu günstigen Preisen.

L

esg2go go go!

  esg2go – sustainability is on the go! Damit die Nachhaltigkeit vorankommt. Aber nicht theoretischer Overkill, sondern das, was den KMU und der Umwelt, der Gesellschaft und den guten Unternehmen dient. Deswegen wurde esg2go zu­sammen mit KMU entwickelt. Deswegen berücksichtigt esg2go nicht nur den Footprint (die Belastung), sondern auch den Handprint (den aktiven Beitrag zur Problemlösung). Damit es vorwärtsgeht mit der Nachhaltigkeit!

Unser transparentes Verfahren

Welche Informationen benötigen wir?

esg2go ist sparsam, aber nicht minimalistisch aufgebaut. Verlässliche Resultate benötigen verlässlichen Input. Das Meiste lässt sich aus der Finanzbuchhaltung ablesen, für Anderes braucht man z.B. Strom-Rechnungsdetails und für wiederum Weiteres braucht man z.B. Lohn-Listen.

Es ist wie mit der Steuererklärung: Beim ersten Mal braucht man mehr Zeit und muss sich die Daten etwas zusammensuchen. Bei den nächsten Malen hat man sich die relevanten Dokumente schon beiseite gelegt. Wie immer haben es die Cracks, die sich seit Längerem mit der Nachhaltigkeit-Thematik befassen, wesentlich einfacher als die Novizen.

Bei Bedarf lassen Sie sich von einem Professional (Spezialisten) durch den Prozess begleiten. Die Professionals helfen bei der Eingabe und bei der Interpretation der Ergebnisse.

Wie berechnen wir?

Die Eingaben (für ein Beispiel hier klicken) werden durch die vom CCRS entwickelte Berechnungs-Maschinerie in Scores umgewandelt. Aus den einzelnen Eingabewerten werden sogenannte KPI (Key Performance Indikatoren) berechnet, jeweils zwei für den Bereich Umwelt (E – Environment), fünf für den Bereich Gesellschaft (S – Social) und drei für den Bereich Unternehmensführung (G – Governance). Diese den «Footprint» (die Belastung) abbildenden KPIs werden unter Einbezug des aktiven Beitrags in «Handprint»-KPI umgerechnet. Die KPI wiederum werden zu Scores für die einzelnen ESG-Bereiche und in einen Gesamtscore umgerechnet. Bei den Berechnungen der Scores werden nebst den Eingaben der esg2go Teilnehmer auch noch weitere empirische Werte mit einbezogen.

Fürs Benchmarking werden die Scores jeweils branchen- und grössenspezifisch geeicht. Ein Score von 0 ist ein sogenannter No-Go-Wert, d.h. das absolute Minimum. Ein Score von 100 ist der Idealwert, der derzeit theoretisch möglich ist. Der Benchmarkwert liegt immer bei 60, d.h. er ist der Referenzwert bezüglich Branche und Firmengrösse. Liegt man darüber, ist man besser als der Branchendurchschnitt. Liegt man darunter, ist man schlechter.

Die Grafik bringt es gut zum Ausdruck: Durch differenziertes Benchmarking bezüglich Firmengrösse und Branche wird die Streuung verringert und der Benchmark genauer bzw. aussagekräftiger.

 

esg2go Benchmarking Diagramm

Und das Ergebnis?

Und was bringt das? Ganz schön viel, wenn Sie uns fragen.

  1. Ein klares, faires, branchen- und grössenbezogenes Scoring über die drei ESG-Dimensionen,
  2. das sich teilautomatisiert auf weitere Reportings übertragen lässt.
  3. Durch den offenen Approach werden die Aktiven in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit eingebunden, was die hohe Qualität des esg2go Rating & Reporting Standards sicherstellt.
  4. Der esg2go Rating & Reporting Standard wird einmal ausgefüllt und mehrfach von vielen Kunden akzeptiert. Das spart Zeit.
  5. So ist esg2go eine verlässliche Referenz, welche den Zugang zu weiteren Märkten und Offertmöglichkeiten ermöglicht.

Ein Beispiel eines MVP-Berichtes (nur Rating) sehen Sie hier. Zudem erhalten die Teilnehmer einen „Stempel“ zur Verwendung in ihrer Kommunikation.

esg2go-go-go! Ein erster Anfang in der Nachhaltigkeits-Berichterstattung.

Beispiel einer Ergebnisgrafik

esg2go Vorteile im Video kurz & knapp erklärt

«Wir wollen es den KMU so einfach wie möglich machen. Und sie sollen den grösstmöglichen Nutzen davon haben.»

Dr. Philipp Aerni – Director CCRS

Wer steht hinter esg2go?

esg2go ist ein Projekt des CCRS Center for Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability an der Hochschule für Wirtschaft Fribourg und der Adjumed Services AG.

Logo CCRS
Logo HfW Fribourg
Logo Adjumed Services AG
Logo CCRS
Logo Uni ZH
Logo Adjumed Services AG
Logo CCRS
Logo Uni ZH